The Great Chesapeake Bay Schooner Race The Great Chesapeake Bay Schooner Race: Racing to Save the Bay

2014 GCBSR Results

Place Schooner Captain Home Port
Class AA, 127 nm
1 Summerwind Kurt Sora Oxford, MD
2 Pride of Baltimore II Jan Miles Baltimore, MD
3 Liberty Clipper Christopher Shaw Boston, MA
Class A, 127 nm
1 Light Reign James Turrell Oxford, MD
2 Woodwind Ken Kaye Annapolis, MD
3 Brilliant Nicholas Alley Mystic, CT
Class B, 80 nm
1 Apella Daniel Hall Wilmington, DE
2 Tom Bombadil John Flanigan Pasadena, MD
3 Adventurer (65) Mark Faulstick Ridgely, MD
Class C, 80 nm
1 Farewell Linda Gunn Baltimore, MD
2 Susan B. Merryman Peter Hegeman Havre de Grace, MD
3 Istar Charles "Stormy" Mayo Provincetown, MA

The complete 2014 Official Race Results may be viewed as a PDF file.

2014 Awards

The Black Dog Trophy was created in 2006 to honor the individual(s) who supports the Great Chesapeake Bay Schooner Race in the spirit of Captain Lane Briggs (1932-2005), the founder of the GCBSR. Named after Captain Briggs' faithful companion, Reb, this bronze statue of a black dog signifies loyalty to the race mission and faithful and honorable support for the event without personal recognition. In the words of Captain Briggs, "It's amazing what you can get done if you don't care who gets credit for it!"

The board of directors presents this award, honoring significant contributions to the race, as deserved and not on an annual basis, making it the most prestigious presentation of the organization.

This year, Jay Irwin received the Black Dog Award.

The Great Chesapeake Bay Schooner Race Perpetual Trophy was awarded to Light Reign (A Fleet), James Turrell at the helm, with the best corrected time at Thimble Shoal of 13 hours, 4 minutes and 58 seconds.

The Great Chesapeake Bay Schooner Race Clock, awarded for line honors at Thimble Shoal ? the fastest schooner in the race, went to Woodwind with an elapsed time of 18 hours and 15 minutes.

The Howdy Bailey Buckle, awarded to a B or C Fleet schooner for line honors at Windmill Point, was given to Farewell (C Fleet), sailed by Linda Gunn, with an elapsed time of 17 hours and 18 minutes.

The Windmill Point Trophy, formerly the Michelob Chesapeake Bay Challenge Trophy was also awarded to Farewell, with the best corrected time at Windmill Point of 12 hours, 59 minutes and 21 seconds.

The Rebel Educational Trophy balances the triad of the Great Chesapeake Bay Schooner Race: a valiant race down the length of the Chesapeake Bay; historical preservation of the schooner fleet; and an education program focused on the heritage, ecology and natural resources of the Chesapeake Bay. We all know that it takes an experienced crew to race a schooner under full sail, but often the educational program the schooner carries along goes unnoticed. The schooners participating in the education program spend untold hours planning, fundraising, training and executing their educational program. The Great Chesapeake Bay Schooner Race Educational Program Committee selects the schooner deserving recognition for their contribution to this essential element. It is the schooners' educational programs that will perpetuate Captain Briggs' vision of the Great Chesapeake Bay Schooner Race for generations to come.

Mystic Whaler received the Rebel Educational Trophy this year.

Parade of Sail


Board Members Captains' Comments Contact Us Education Program FAQs 2013 Fleet
History In the Press Rating & Handicapping Rules & Instructions Sponsors 2013 Sponsors
Teachers' Resources Time to Beat Volunteers 2013 Volunteers Web Links  
        Site Index Home

ŠThe Great Chesapeake Bay Schooner Race, Inc